Connecting with Clients

I love photographing people.  The only catch?  I’m an introvert.  You might wonder at my choice of career then, trust me – I have too!  But it’s simple really – I love the sense of satisfaction when I know that I’ve really captured the essence of my subjects.  When people see their photos, and it brings a tear to their eye.  When people tell me that I really ‘nailed’ their personalities, and relationships in camera.

It’s not always easy though!  One of the things that I’ve learned over the years is that making a connection with the people I’m photographing is critical.  On a few occasions I haven’t been able to ‘click’ with my subjects due to language barriers, time constraints, or even just personality issues.  Those are always the ‘meh’ photos.  Technically ok, but lacking in magic.

A few months ago, I heard about a photographic course that really peaked my interest.  I did some research, and decided that it was just what I needed to help me make quicker, yet genuine connections with my subjects.  I had just finished the theoretical part of the course, when Myke asked me to take some pictures of he and his partner.  I was delighted to put the theory into practise, so we headed down to our local forest and beach area for a photo shoot.

It was great fun!  There was a lot of laughter, and using the techniques that I’m learning I was able to break down the barriers that so often give rise to that awful ‘camera smile’.  You all know the one right?  That forced smile that we all make when somebody points a camera at us…  I’m pleased to say that there were no ‘camera smiles’ on our shoot.  Just heartfelt expressions of love and joy.  I’m a convert to this way of photographing!  I haven’t finished the course yet, I have one module to go, as well as a practical submission.  I’ll tell you a little more about it once I’m finished.  But I can honestly say that it’s been the most beneficial photography course I’ve done in a long time – perfect for the shy photographer!  Here are a few of my favourite images from the shoot.  I hope you enjoy them, I’m certainly looking forward to my future shoots.

Celebrating Love 1 Celebrating Love 2 Celebrating Love 3 Celebrating Love 4

Is your personality suited to your job?  Or have you also had to learn specific techniques to fulfill your potential?
I’d love to hear from you, h
ave a wonderful week, Coralie XoXo

2 thoughts on “Connecting with Clients

  1. It was a really enjoyable experience, and Coralie was a joy to have taking photographs as she was approachable, personable and really listened and cared about her subjects (me and my partner). Thank you Coralie for the great photographs!

Leave a Reply

